We are now in an age where most of our personal assets such as our emails, social media identities, photos – live online. What do you think will happen to your data online when you die?
At some times in our lives, we made a will with the list of our properties and those we want to give. So also lawyers, scholars, and even the government have been urging us to prepare for this eventuality by creating a social media will. This will, will be some sort of spelled-out plan for how you want your online life to be handled after you might have transcend this world.
Don’t Miss: How Google Glass Works
Google has rolled out a process that lets you plan for that eventuality yourself, while you’re still alive. It is called “Inactive Account Manager” tool. A tool that control what will happen to your account when you stop using Google, i.e. die. This tool will allow you to set a specified amount of time you want Google wait before taking action i.e. notify your trusted contacts which can be up to 10 in numbers. If Google doesn’t hear from you a month before the deadline you set, an alert will be sent to you via email or text message to make sure you aren’t just hibernating. After that month if you haven’t re-entered your account, Google will share your data with the list, provided you have chosen them. The email they will receive will look exactly like the image you are seeing below:
Alternatively, you can set the tool to have your account deleted after being inactive for a specified time. Your Blogger posts, uploaded YouTube videos, Picasa albums, Google Voice messages, etc. will be wiped away.
“Not many of us like thinking about death – especially our own. But making plans for what happens after you’re gone is really important for the people you leave behind,” wrote project manager Andreas Tuerk in an official blog post. “We hope that this new feature will enable you to plan your digital afterlife — in a way that protects your privacy and security — and make life easier for your loved ones after you’re gone,”
Visit https://www.google.com/settings/u/0/account/inactive to set the Inactive Account Manager feature yourself.