Instagram has recently added a new option that allows other users to see when you were last active on the service in their direct messages. If you are one who is not into letting everyone know what you are up to every minute of the day, you can disable it pretty easily.
Here’s how it’s done:
- First, open the Instagram app, then jump over to your profile by tapping the last icon in the navigation bar.
- You’ll need to head into the Settings menu—on iOS, it’s a little cog icon beside the “Edit profile” button. On Android, tap the three buttons in the upper right corner.
- Next, just scroll down to the bottom of the “Settings” section, there you’ll find an option labeled “Show Activity Status.”
- Then you toggle it to disable.
It is important to note that if you choose to hide your activity status, you won’t be able to see other users’ statuses either.