How to reset Chrome’s settings to default


At times, even without our knowing, adware, malware, and unwanted extensions change our settings, such as homepages and default search engines and by so doing they make it almost impossible to restore the original settings we had. But if you reset the settings of your browser, the guesswork is erased and all the issues are handled.

What Settings Get Reset?

When you reset Google Chrome to default, you will lose a lot of data, although not all. If you’re signed into your Google account on Chrome, the settings below will be set to default on every device you are signed into.

  • Default Search Engine: Changes back to Google.
  • Homepage and Tabs: The Home button—if you enabled it—will disappear and your startup tabs will be cleared.
  • New Tab Page: Changes back to the default New Tab page with Google logo, search bar, and thumbnails of most visited sites.
  • Pinned Tabs: These will unpin and be removed.
  • Content Settings: This includes a site’s access to the camera or microphone, notifications, whether to block pop-ups, and so on.
  • Cookies and Site Data: All will be cleared.
  • Extensions and Themes: Will be disabled.

However settings like fonts, accessibility features, bookmarks, history, and passwords, will not be affected.

 

How to Reset Chrome Settings

Open you Chrome browser, click the menu icon, and select “Settings”. Or you can type chrome://settings/ into the Omnibox to head to Settings directly.

 

While you’re in the Settings tab, scroll down to the bottom and click “Advanced”.

 

Having done that,  scroll down again and click “Restore settings to their original defaults”.

 

Review the warning, and be sure you want to proceed with the reset of your Chrome settings after which you click “Reset Settings”.

Once you click the button, all settings listed before will be set to default.

If you want to begin anew and yet want to keep your previous settings, you may want to set up more than one profile so you can switch between them. You could also delete totally everything that’s been stored locally on Google’s servers.



Over 50,000 + Readers

Get fresh content from JustNaira



Leave a Reply